2013 in Review

It’s been a while and I will update a few posts soon about living life down under! But first i wanted to think about how lucky I was to do so much last year (2013, its 2014 here in Australia already!) I think it’s been my best year so far and the things i have achieved have made me so happy as well as meeting people along the way that have become like family.

So here is a review of my jam packed 2013.

I started ringing in New Year 2013 on Koh Samui with Paul and James, friends from the UK who came to visit. I had arranged to be at Koh Phangan for a full moon party but the weather didn’t want to play ball and the boats got cancelled so instead we relied on good old Ark Bar in Chaweng. (Still got that full moon party to tick off the bucket list, damn, will just have to go back to Thailand later in the year :P)

Paul, me and James

My second New Year was at a party through school where I was dressed up in full Thaicostume and performed a Thai dance on stage. (Didn’t fall over and don’t think i screwed up the steps either – win!)

541774_327235634059052_33222949_n

February saw me deal with exams for the first time and make me wonder if my students actually learn anything from me! They do, just a few had some funny responses!

March was the start of the summer holidays in Thailand and I was able to explore more of it by going to the north. Chiang Mai and Pai being the best parts, celebrating Songkran (Thai New yrs) as well as ticking a few bucket lists by learning how to ride an elephant and cuddling a tiger! Not so fortunate was falling off my motorbike.383145_378042548975823_1246687356_n

April was a continuation of summer hols, going back to the UK for 3 weeks to catch up with family and friends.

DSCN7625

In May I made the hard decision to leave Tesaban Khaochaison School and move to the cityto start a new job as an English and Science teacher at Srisawangvong. It meant i was able to see both worlds of thailand, the urban and rural, as well as different sides of education – public and a private schooling as well as basic and advanced english levels. It also introduced me to so many other teachers and I realised how lonely I had been. My new company Hello English went out of their way to make me feel welcome and introduce me to people who i now count as lifelong friends.

In July it was my birthday and my friend from Spain, Henry, came to visit. It meant I got to be a tourist in Hat Yai and show him all the city sights and do all the things I had been meaning to do since living there but hadn’t quite got round to. I also taught my first ever science lessons! They were so much fun!IMG_0995DSCN8238

In August I watched as 10,000 monks came to Hat Yai to collect alms for the poor. This was a spectacular sight that I will remember for a very long time. So worth the waking up early! It was also my schools sports day, so many costumes!DSCN8628

In October my holidays started again and my parents visited Thailand. It was amazing and we fitted so much in, spending one week in Koh Samui and the other on my favourite place in Thailand – Railay Beach! I showed them many places i had been before but the highlight of the trip was visiting Koh Nangyuan, a trio of islands perfect for snorkelling that i had never been to before! We also went to James Bond Island and Maya Bay where the film The Beach was filmed.

P1010185

October was a very busy monthfor me that had a lot of changes. I left teaching in Thailand, met my friends Paul and Louise in Kuala Lumpur, the most interesting place being Melaka, and then moved to another country, Australia!

P1010906November saw us settling into life in Melbourne, exploring but also trying to find jobs, find a house, sort out bank accounts, tax numbers, phones etc. 

P1020112

In December I started my new job, as a Telesales Consultant. I ring people up and talk to them about their electricity and gas providers and try to persuade them that they should change to us. One of my closest friends from the UK, Chantal also came to visit for Christmas, which meant we did lots of exciting things like the Great Ocean road, Phillip Island and met lots of cute aussie wildlife. (To be blogged about soon…)

P1020583

Happy New Year 2014, hope it’s the best yet! 

 

Categories: Exploring Thailand, Festivals, Teaching - Science Week, Teaching Thailand- Government School, Teaching Thailand- Private School | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

