10,000 Monks in Hat Yai

560703.02

This ceremony takes place every year in Hat Yai, when 10,000 monks from 10 Asian countries come to visit to collect Alms from people and practice Buddhism. It was the first time in Hat Yai (that I have experienced)  commentary not only in Thai but English and Malay too, emphasising what an international event this was.

It was held on Sunday 18th August on Sai 3 road in the centre of Hat Yai, which was closed to traffic all morning. It is advertised as starting at 6am, but we got there at about 7am and the procession of Monks start walking down the lines around 8am. However if you go next year, go early and you’ll get a good spot near the front. We were lucky and were able to sit on the floor very close to the procession.

560703.03

 

Photos above taken from http://www.dmc.tv

The reason for giving alms is for merit making in the Buddhist religion. (I’m not an expert, but I believe this allows for better karma in future lives.)

[Below is adapted from http://www.dmc.tv/pages/en_news/morning-alms-round-Hat-Yai-2013.html] 

Here are the rules to follow;

  1. Wear white, or at least a white shirt. You will look stupid and stand out if you don’t, everyone is in white, except the Monks in orange.
  2. Offer only dried food and make sure packs of rice are sealed.
  3. Don’t donate money straight to the Monk, but give it in at the stations around, where it can be kept safe.
  4. Be respectful, let the people in front of you offer their alms first, then move back to let others through once you have placed your Alm in the Monks bowl.
  5. Have happy thoughts when giving the Alms.

 

The reasons people offer Alms to the Monks;

 

  1. You will live a long life with nice skin and be happy and healthy.
  2. You will be rich and prosperous.
  3. You will be reborn into a Buddhist country in your next life.
  4. You will attain Dhamma easily.

 

I’m not Buddhist so I went to see lots of Monks and be part of the traditions and do my good deed of the day by offering Alms. It was funny, I was so interested in the Monks, as they walked along before the alms were offered I found myself taking many photos, and in some cases the Monks were just as intrigued with me, a farang (foreigner.) I saw 2 monks walking along taking photos of me too, one with an iphone and another on camera, but i think he was recording the crowd in general. I think the pictures explain more than words can but for me it was great to be part of something so nice, and worth getting up early for!

My photos; Rowenna, myself and Linda waiting for the Monks to arrive.

DSCN8604

 

The start, all the Monks walking to line up!

DSCN8655

Older Monks.. see he’s taking a photo of me!

DSCN8651

Young Monks

DSCN8638 DSCN8628

 

The End; the Monks receiving the Alms, which the Cadet boys then rounded up and put into big trucks to help feed the poor.

DSCN8664

 

 

Categories: Exploring Thailand, Festivals | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “10,000 Monks in Hat Yai

  1. I’m still insanely jealous that I didn’t know anything about this 😦 if I’m still here next year I am definitely going! And now I’ve read that it will ensure I have a long life with nice skin… what more could I ask for in life?! Great pictures x

  2. Rowenna M Menzies

    AWESOME that you wrote this Zo! The procession is well advertised for several weeks before ~ but all the posters and notices are in Thai. Linda and I are usually the only white people there (and you this time of course! 🙂 The local Thai people are very friendly and seem delighted that a few of us ‘farangs’ have bothered to get out of bed!
    It’s so worth the effort! The procession is visually stunning… I also find the chanting calming and somehow moving, although I don’t understand what any of the words mean.
    My top tip is try to sit somewhere shaded. Great photographs – didn’t know about the benefits for skin! Wow!

  3. linda

    Nice one Zoe

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

