It’s my Birthday!

Well, it was, as I’m a little late posting this!

My Birthday luckily fell on a long weekend, which meant not only did I have Saturday to party, but Monday and Tuesday to recover as well as time to travel, so a bunch of friends and I went to Ao Nang (again, yes I know this is my 6th time there, but I love it!)

On Friday evening after school we took a mini van from Hat Yai to Ao Nang, which was definitely a bumpy ride! I don’t know if it was because we were at the back, above the wheels but it was definitely the worst drive I’ve had there! We arrived at Ao Nang backpackers hostel at about 10.30pm after a 6 hour drive! Koe was there to welcome us, and we got stuck in to some Hong Thong that Lesley had bought, and beer that Koe donated to me. (Both Andrea and I had previously stayed at this hostel, at separate times and we went back again because it was so clean, the beds are comfy, the girls room comes with its own bathroom with hot water, shampoo and body wash and because Koe is a great host. It’s also a bargain at 150THB a night, so I reccomend this place to any travellers!!) That night we also met other travellers and they joined in with my early birthday celebrations! At midnight (as it turned into my birthday) Koe put Happy birthday song on loudspeakers and everyone sang, and then i opened my pressies and cards that had arrived in the post from home (Thanks everyone at home!) Also Karen and Andrea bought me a gift too, a scrapbook and a cherry hairband! And Koe gave me an Ao Nang backpackers tshirt, which i really like! Shortly after everyone became sleepy so we went to bed.

The following day, my actual birthday I went to Ao Nang beach and Andrea directed us to Lilys! Can’t believe I’ve been here so many times and not met Lily before. She owns Lilys massage place, right on the beach. Theres lots of places all the way down that part and she is at number 3. We sat on her chairs on the beach and she got mats out for us to sunbathe, pillows, water, fruit and coffee, and pretty much looked after us the whole time! All the ladies had massages and painted nails and toes, so it was a lovely pampering day. We also met a kind man, who sold corn on the cob (millies to the SAs!) cooked on coconut dusted coal (thats what his sign said) which he mimed that I should read because he is deaf. He carries the barbeque around with him on his shoulders and is super smiley, and all weekend he waved hello at us. Even though he was deaf his sign said he still wanted to work and still enjoyed meeting people. After he made the corn for us and we were all munching away he did a thumbs up sign, presumably asking if it was good. We responded, hopefully conveying it was delicious!

IMG_0346

We nicknamed him the Millies Man. ( I was with South Africans and thats what they call corn, though I don’t know how to spell it!)

IMG_0362

In the evening we returned to the hostel, met some more travellers, and headed to Crazy Gringos the (only) Mexican restaurant in Ao Nang. It was a really fun evening, with a live band, lots of good food, yummy cocktails and singing and dancing. Henry, my chinese friend who I sat next to in University in Spain 2 years ago, came to my birthday too. I knew he was travelling in Thailand and we arranged it to come visit for my birthday! (Thanks!) After the restaurant we headed to Chang bar too for more dancing, until I felt like I’d drank way too much and went home.

Laughter at Crazy Gringos with Henry, Karen, Carmen, myself and Andrea.

IMG_0454

Cheers at Ao Nang Backpackers!

IMG_0380

DSCN8148 DSCN8135 IMG_0995

Salsa Dancing? (Not… but we were having fun!)

IMG_0438 DSCN5339

The following 2 days were spent relaxing on the beach again at Lilys. Everyone split up and did different day trips but we met up at the end of the days. One day I was with Andrea and Lesley and the other was spent catching up with Henry. It once again involved doing nothing but sitting on the beach, occasionally going for a swim and another massage! Perfect holiday bliss and a very happy birthday!

DSCN8209 DSCN5402

Categories: Exploring Thailand | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

