Home is where the heart is…

DSCN7776

My “home home” as I like to call it, will always be Khandala Gardens, at least until my parents move out, [or I officially do – like move EVERYTHING from my room, which as my friends know will be a huge task and will probably never happen] but after living in Thailand for 8 months, it’s also become a home.

I’m back to my little town at an address I don’t even have except it’s known as San Fan Resort in Khaochaison, next to the hot springs. Even though my road is long and windy, it’s a back road and as far as I can tell it doesn’t have a name. (My post is sent to the council offices of the town.)

And being back here, and already starting school again seems like my time at “home home” was just a dream. What a fantastic dream though! I did nothing much out of the ordinary, spent time with friends, family, went to Cheltenham to see my extended family, and enjoyed every day life, making the most of being in the UK again! And planning new adventures for October. I was there for 3 weeks only and I advise anyone making the trip back to take longer holidays! I definitely needed a week longer, I was saying my goodbyes before I’d even finished my hellos it felt like. And I cried at the airport leaving. My luggage etc was ready but my heart wasn’t. I’d spent so long looking forward to returning home and counting down the days that I hadn’t given any thought on returning, except it being a little way off, and it came round sooo quickly.

Incase you didn’t guess already this post is going to be all sentimental.

Returning home and coming back out here again made me realise how much support I have from friends and family. My parents have always encouraged me to travel and have never held me back from fulfilling dreams, even when I was 18 and went to Sri Lanka by myself to work with elephants for 3 months! They knew it’s something I had always wanted to do and made it possible for me. This time round they are always on facebook, skype etc keeping in regular contact, and sending things in the post that I can’t find out here. Also mum was keeping count of the days until I was back home too. (And has already worked out when I will next see them, this time in Thailand, in 20 weeks tomorrow.)

Also friends have been fab, always keeping in contact and taking time off work at home to spend more time with me, and helping out such as cooking roast dinners and picking me up. I realise how lucky I am, knowing that everyone back home is eager to hear about my adventures and looks forward to seeing me (whether I’m at home or they come here to visit!) It makes life away a lot easier, as I am still part of their lives, and they are in mine, we’re just separated a bit by a few thousand miles (8,765 according to google maps – Portsmouth to Phattalung.)

I want to end on a happy note and I’ve been seeing lots of quotes recently – this one means the most to me and is written by Mark Twain;

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do rather than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbour and catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

I knew I’d regret it if I didn’t come out here in the first place, and so it was definitely the right decision! Making the decision to stay longer just means i love it here and it’s time for more adventures (or teaching…)

DSCN7625

Welcome home Roast with friends, cooked by Ryan, Chantal and Prawn.

DSCN7628

Catch up meal with Louise and Paul

DSCN7676

Catch up dinner with Jayne

DSCN7690

Paul and I train journey to london

DSCN7720

In the O2 arena in London with Chantal

DSCN7747

Goodbye meal with friends

DSCN7756

Goodbye meal with Mum and Dad

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Home is where the heart is…

  1. Jayne

    Love you xx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

