Arrival in Chiang Mai

I arrived in Chiang Mai on a flight with Nok Air from Hat Yai. Check in was easy and the flight went smoothly.

After getting a taxi to my hostel, Chiang Mai backpack house, I asked for a map and was told what was in walking distance. My hostel is just outside the old quarter, which is an area that’s easy to identify as there is a wall running around it, next to the Chiang Mai gate. I walked around and explored the area all afternoon, generally finding lots of temples! In the fist temple a Thai woman invited me over, and we ended up having a long conversation, where she translated so the Monk next to her could join in. She told me how they were preparing for Thai new year and how Chiang Mai will be a great place to experience the festival. I also went to the TIT office, Tourism in Thailand, and booked a trip for the next day.

As evening approached I made my way to the Sunday Market in the heart of the old town. It’s the biggest most interesting market I’ve been to in a long time, I was really impressed. It sold everything from food, to gifts, to clothes, art, everything! I munched my way around, sampling lots of street food, but eventually after 3 hours got tired of walking, and went back to the hostel after seeing about 3/4 of the market. Good news is I’m here for another 2 sundays so I have time to see the rest yet!

At a DSCN7183 DSCN7192 DSCN7199 DSCN7218 DSCN7220

Categories: Exploring Thailand | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

